Go with the Flow


So I had my doctor’s appointment. I was ridiculously nervous, as I wasn’t sure what to expect. I tried to have a short nap beforehand, to take the edge off, but that only fueled the brain fire. I ended up at the office, fidgeting in my chair the whole time, and I arrived convinced that he was gonna make me take a pregnancy test on the account that I was tired. (Worry wart much?)

The wait for the office was uneventful, despite being behind schedule by a half an hour. (I should point out, when I called before I left, he was running on time, and in the 15 minutes it took me to get from point A to point B, he had gotten that far behind) A few interesting articles, and some highly amusing people-watching moments, and I was let in.

More fidgeting.

Doctor arrives, we chat.

Long story short, I’m being referred to the doctor that diagnosed my mother’s sleep condition. On the one hand, I’m extremely glad that he doesn’t think I have PPD, but on the other hand, I find myself in a bit of a panic because despite the disorder being manageable, and non-life-threatening, it’s incurable, and that is downright scary.

Since I do not have a diagnosis yet, (I’m being referred to the doctor that can make the diagnosis), I’m going to try some of the things that have helped my mom get her life back, considering that several reasonably effective coping techniques include a solid sleep routine (and that is good for everyone to have, even without the disorder), The official name of the disorder we’re looking at is Idiopathic Hypersomnia. The nature of it is difficult to explain in full, (although for the curious, wikipedia has an excellent article on it) but the main thing is that it’s a daytime sleep disorder, and not a night time one. Which explains a lot.

I’m going to continue with my 20 minute naps, and plan my housework around the times when I’m actually awake (night owl is an understatement), and go from there. My main concern is figuring out how to not feel bad if my day doesn’t work out the way I’d like it to. I guess this is where I put to use the term “go with the flow”.

Wish me luck!

What Do You Think?

