Something Witty.


I was desperately hoping that today would be full of intrigue, excitement, and something hilarious, so that I had something interesting to write about.
Ahahaha.
The universe had other plans.

I think the most exciting thing that happened to me today was going to Stuff Mart 2 to find plug covers. Now that I think about it, it wasn’t hilarious so much as entirely morbid (and cause for a mental hernia on my end). You see, they’ve come out with a new concept: covers with buttons on them for easy removal by an adult to save your nails. Yes, you read that right. It has a button on the front of it. For easy removal, so you don’t break a nail trying to get them out (the actual package has the words “save your nails” on it..). As if it wasn’t shiny enough for small children just because it’s something you don’t want them touching… now you can appeal to their need to push buttons (which is only one step behind food). Considering how many children can actually get the original ones out, that’s just asking for trouble. At least they have a disclaimer on the back that says it’s only supposed to be child resistant and to never use without adult supervision, but that doesn’t help me at all with my 2 1/2 year old. He’s old enough to play in his room by himself, and on top of that, he has a big boy bed (not toddler sized, adult sized, he’s huge), and could easily hop off in the middle of the night… (that is more me being a worrywart than him actually waiting until I’m asleep to play with plugs, he’s not *that* crafty).

And so I am stumped. He’s still young enough to be curious (in fact, he sneakily tried to plug in the griddle when I blinked yesterday), but he’s too old and too big and too mentally aware of certain things to be able to use normal child proofing measures. Not to mention, I have 2 children and nowhere near enough eyeballs. Seriously, I’m probably gonna need a pair of spy goggles with 360 degree mirrors once Littlest is completely mobile. But I digress. I haven’t got the foggiest idea whether no deterrent or deterrent with shiny kid-attracting buttons is better.

Personally, I’m holding out for Stuff Mart 1 and the possibility that they still have regular ones.

* I would like to point out that I regularly discourage Biggest (and soon Littlest) from touching or playing with the outlets, and I also regularly explain why, but 2 1/2 year olds will be 2 1/2 year olds, and I would really like to do all I can to prevent curious little minds from having a serious accident that I could prevent.

** I do apologize if anyone actually has these, I’m sure they work for some people, but for me and my critters, it’s the dumbest idea for kid safety I’ve seen yet.

*** If I had to guess, I’m putting way more worry into this than most people with a 2 1/2 year old, and for all I know, most people have done away with outlet covers by the time they get to this age. But I’m a worry wart, and I’m armed with all the latest technology in babyproofing my house. I’ve got gadgets and I know how to use them! (Just not ones with buttons)

What Do You Think?

