First Family Trip Ever – Part 1


Well, we’re still living. In reality, a great time was had by all, however, as anyone who travels with small children knows, there’s bound to be a few mishaps along the way, and with that, I shall start the story, which starts on Friday night.

Hubby and I thought it would be a wise idea to sort all of our stuff out and pack it the night before, since we had to leave first thing Saturday morning, and I didn’t want to be having a panic attack 5 minutes before we had to go, while trying to find toothbrushes. It turned out to be a good idea, as we were able to sleep a bit longer, and we were out the door right when we needed to be. The ride to the ferry boat was uneventful, which was good, as everyone except my hubby and the kids was drowning themselves in a caffeinated beverage. As a result of being out the door at the right time, and my sister-in-law having the genius idea to reserve a space on the ferry, we arrived in plenty of time for our sailing. Please note: Littlest did not sleep in the car. During the ferry ride, we had lunch, and I went to the gift store to find Biggest a boat.

There weren’t many boats, in fact, there were only 2, a big one and a little one. The little one looked like it was a disaster waiting to happen, so I checked out the big one, and to my delight, it had an 8-hot-wheels-car capacity. Score! I went to pay for it, and the lady checked to see if the light worked on the top. It didn’t, so she offered it to me for 50% off. Double Score!! Biggest was delighted with it, and when I went to go unwrap it, I realized that the light didn’t work because the tag that prevents the battery connecting during shipping and display was still there, so the light does in fact work. Triple Score!!!

Back to the trip. By the time the boat was bought, the meal was eaten, and everything cleaned up, we were almost ready to get off. Please note: Littlest did not sleep on the ferry except for a 10 minute cat nap. Another shorter than expected drive, which included the children passing out in the backseat, and we were there. Please note: when I said the children, I meant Biggest and his cousin, Littlest did not sleep in the car except for the last 10 minutes before we reached our destination. Holiday traffic wasn’t nearly as bad as we expected.

The rest of the afternoon was a blur or a flurry of activity, whichever you prefer. Things got hauled in, people got chatting, pizza was ordered, movies were watched, etc. I would like to point out, however, that Biggest did a remarkable job, and went to bed as soon as he was told, and slept all night. However, I should mention that Littlest did not sleep when we got there, and woke up no less than 5 times between 7:30pm (when he went to bed) and 1:00am.

Grand Nap Total: 30 minutes. All day.

That night was hell. I’m sorry, it really was. What sleep I did get was lovely, but by the time Littlest was done with his million wake up calls, and Biggest waking up at 5:30am the next morning, I was exhausted.

End Part 1.

You may find Part 2Β here and Part 3 here.

What Do You Think?

