Twitter and Scheduling


Allright, first of all, I caved. I joined the tweeting crazies, and made myself a twitter account. @gnomesgnow officially went there, if you want to follow me. (You can also not, either is totally fine, clearly.)

And onto our regularly scheduled programming. I am stuck between being so angry my face is turning red, and so totally aware of where Biggest is at. It’s been an awful day. Lunch and dinner both ended with the cup overturned, water all over himself, and playing in it. Only to look up and give me a sly “I want attention” grin. In between the water, there’s been tantrums, hissy fits, and all manner of *insert 2 year old behavior here*. I have had it. But I also understand. It’s really not a fun place to be.

Biggest has a terrible time with my sleeping problem. (Diagnosed or not, SOMETHING is going on.) Really, it’s a no-win situation. If I can manage to keep myself from falling asleep in the morning, then I need to be absorbed in something (IE: computer, game, book) until the grogginess goes away, which usually takes about 3 hours. The only other way I’ve found is to go back and sleep it off with Biggest in a quiet time. Problem is, he hates it when I’m napping, and he hates it when I’m on the computer and I’m NOT playing his game. Personally, I’ll take the computer because at least I’m conscious.

Anyhow… that brings me to my final exasperated, didn’t-want-to-resort-to-this solution. I made him a schedule. I didn’t get so anal that he has scheduled pee breaks, but it’s an intervention style list. The only thing I can think of that might explain all of his tantruming and attention grabbing is that a) he’s started sharing a room, and b) his day is so random that he doesn’t know which end is up.  My solution? Scheduled mealtimes, scheduled nap times, and scheduled Mommy time. That takes care of any jealousy as a result of Littlest, any problems with me sleeping instead of playing, and eliminates the constant query about Zhombies. It also gives me time for a shower, and time for my coffee without an unexpected growth on my shoulder. As much as I love both my growths, it’s really frustrating when you’re trying to absorb caffeine. Hopefully that gives him the stability he needs to prevent his feelings of subversion  and jealousy. Wish me luck.

Day 1 starts tomorrow (I’ll let you know how it goes.)

What Do You Think?

