Vaseline in the Carpet, and Other Exciting Monstrosities.


You ever have those days where all hell breaks loose, and you weren’t even there?

Yeah, that was me. Today marks Day #2 of medication, and I thought it was going well. Consider me fooled. Oh, it started out fine. Biggest and I watched our “school bus a-show” and our “garbage truck a-show”, had breakfast… and that was the end of fine. Sort of. I didn’t realize just how unfine it was until later. Yesterday Biggest and the rest of us just chilled. I was nervous about the new medication so I thought I’d take it easy just in case the reason for my energy was pure excitement, so we ended up spending more time than I’d like to admit playing Zhombies. Luckily my nerves weren’t correct, it was a great day, and this morning went exactly as yesterday. However, I sent Biggest off to play, as the amount of time he spent doing relatively nothing yesterday led to an infestation of ants in his pants.

He was not amused.

Either way, he grumped off to play with some non-electronic toys, and I got a call from my mom. I was supposed to go over to her house and help her with a couple of things this afternoon, but she asked if I could come over this morning instead, as she had mixed up the days, and had something to do this afternoon. Seemed fine, hubby was game, off I went. Before I left, I told Biggest, who had ended up in a quiet time before he got himself in a heap of trouble for his attitude, that I would be back shortly.

And was met with a blood-curdling scream.

Luckily I was able to recognize that he was angry, and sat down with him for a minute to calm him down, remind him that I loved him, and that I wasn’t leaving because I was angry with him.

Off I went. All was well.

One hour later…

I got a very nice phone call from Hubby saying that we had a little problem. That problem being the brilliant idea thought up by Biggest to angrily smear 1/3 of the jar of Vaseline all over the carpet. Needless to say, he got himself into a bit of trouble for that one.

We’ve never had a problem with Biggest being vindictive. Ever. He cries. He throws stuff. He screams. He stomps his feet. But he’s never done anything to get back at me.

I have no idea what to do.

Thankfully hubby was able to get it out of the carpet, but the attitude remained, even after I returned from my mother’s. It involved crushing chips, and bringing all his toys into the kitchen in defiance. (We have a standing rule that he is well aware of on the subject of toys in the kitchen, especially when we are cooking. Guess what I was doing?)

I do realize, however, that this is probably a belated attempt to protest the merging of his room. It’s coming after 2 weeks of yanking Littlest’s toys away, being cranky with Littlest, and various other jealous-type behaviors. I’m not really surprised. Well, maybe a little, since I really wasn’t expecting petroleum jelly in my carpet fibers (I figure it’s waterproofing, should anything spill on that one little patch, it’ll be a breeze to clean up.. or it’ll get completely caught in the fibers, but I’m gonna go on the positive side with this one!). But other than that, no big deal.

What Biggest doesn’t know is that he will learn to accept it. Even if it takes forever. I’ve got plenty of hugs, plenty of kisses, and plenty of patience. (The verdict on how much patience is still out, you don’t really know how much you have until you run out, but in this case, I’m pretty sure I can handle it. After all, I practically invented Stubborn).

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to have a happily busy day tomorrow, and I need some sleep. The family is coming for supper and the menu is going to be divine.

Toodles!

2 thoughts on “Vaseline in the Carpet, and Other Exciting Monstrosities.

What Do You Think?

