12 somethings of that thing called Christmas.


So it has come to my attention that it is November (har har, insert Mommy “lost date” phenomenon here). Which means that Christmas is coming up. Now Christmas has always been a big deal for our family. In fact, my husband loves it so much he puts his tree up the beginning of November so he can watch the lights when it gets dark. My part is typically the shopping. I like to be prepared, and I don’t like the stress of trying to buy things the week before Christmas, so by now I’ve usually finished (or close to, anyways) my gift list. This year,ย  however, I have not. Hubby is in school, and at this point, we’re just trying to make rent for January.

Today I went out with a friend for a Mom date, and it hit me, as the stores were all setting up their displays, and the holiday transformation was beginning, that I will not have a Christmas this year. At first, I was fighting the urge to be devastated (I’m a little ashamed, to be honest).

Then, I smacked myself in the face, gave myself an earful, pulled my boots (read: sneakers) up, and got over it. What a silly thing to be upset about! Admittedly, it’s an important holiday in the western world, but despite what I said earlier about it being a big deal for our family, it’s not THAT kind of big deal. If anything, it’s a big deal because we try to pack as much as we can into December so that it lasts longer, we make more memories, and we can actually eat all the baking. You only really bake that awesomeness once a year. (Come on, people, can anyone honestly say they feel comfortable making Yule Log, complete with fake snow, in the middle of August? …if you do, please let me live in my delusions, and give yourself a pat on the back from my happily oblivious self.)

So, after the smackdown… (You shoulda been there! It was confusion and mayhem to the extreme, but in the end, Sob Fest was defeated, and Self reigns supreme once again. An epic fight if I’ve ever seen one.)ย  I made a list of the many reasons I will still get a Christmas. Because, clearly, my world shouldn’t end with the lack of.. how do I put it… packages, boxes or bags. (Thanks Dr. Seuss!)

Behold, my 12 Somethings of Christmas.

1) I do not have an after Christmas wallet sag. There wasn’t any money in there to begin with.

2) More baking! Less wrapping to the point of not caring whether it actually covers the gift or not.

3) No price tag worries (you know, you wrapped the whole gift, but you’ve taken so many price tags off that you can’t remember whether you took the one off the last package?)

4) Let Creativity reign supreme! Homemade gifts are free, and always hit the spot. (Even if it’s awful, no one says so because you made it yourself, and that would be rude.)

5) Turkey fits into the grocery budget.

6) So does ham.

7) So does stuffing.

8) No over-stimulated crying meltdowns from the child(ren) when all the gifts are done from overly bright mind-sizzling wrapping paper.

9) Come to think of it, no wrapping paper bill either.

10) My kids are too small to realize they’re “missing out” anyway.

11) The Grinch Who Stole Christmas, A Charlie Brown Christmas, and any other awesome Christmas movies, don’t rely on my wallet. Also, I own the Grinch, and I’m lucky enough to have a husband who has a working VCR to play it.

12) I already got two huge gifts this year, well 3 actually. My Littlest, who was born in February. My own place, complete with built in gym (read: no elevator and top floor). And Netflix, which has the Magic School Bus, and is therefore clearly awesome.

So you see, I’m really not missing out that badly.

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “12 somethings of that thing called Christmas.

  1. When my husband and I were first married we were both in graduate school and then we both worked retail jobs for a couple of years. Needless to say our first 3 Christmas seasons were full of handmade gifts ๐Ÿ™‚ I think Christmas has gotten way too commercialized. It would be nice if we all got back to sitting around the table at Christmas dinner and enjoying the company, not the gifts. I hope that you have a great Christmas and remember that things always get better and the struggle during the hard times only makes you stronger in the long run ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

What Do You Think?

