Need… Coffee… and welcome to the new site!


So, for all of you that transferred over to the new site, thanks for joining me here! The new place offers easier following, as you can now get updates directly by email, as well as Twitter and Facebook. You should also be able to leave comments now without logging in, as it only requires a first name and email to drop me a line. Speaking of which, if you have any suggestions, feel free to leave your ideas in the comments. I’m still adjusting to the new platform, so it might change looks a few times before I’m done.

 

But enough of that. The house is strangely quiet right now, as Littlest fell asleep, and Biggest is in the tub. While he insists that he doesn’t want to be in there, he sure sounds like he’s having a lot of fun. I’m drowning myself in a cup of coffee, as I tried something new this morning. I know, I know, I always try something new. This time though, I had no choice. I have been living in the proverbial lap of luxury for the last month and a half, because for whatever reason, my kids slept until 7:30am. Given that they used to get up at 5:45am every morning, I was in heaven. Since it didn’t seem to be going away, I’ve gotten used to it, and adjusted my schedule accordingly. Meaning, of course, that the instant I started assuming it would stay that way, they’ve gone back to getting up at 5:45am. I’ll admit it, I did it to myself. I’ve been going to bed at a normal adult time instead of 10:00pm as I should be, and I’ve been dragging my sorry bum out of bed with much chagrin. Despite that, it’s still taken me almost a week to be able to function properly at such a ridiculous time of the morning. Also, if any of you have children that sleep later than 6, I’m insanely jealous.

 

Anyway, today was a reset. I got up at 6 with the kids. They had their Cheerios first thing so that I could make a good breakfast around 9;30 instead of trying to fill them up with a snack. Snacks and boys is a joke. It really should just be another meal. When I was a kid, I would have been perfectly fine with a banana in between breakfast and lunch. Not my boys. I’ve given up and planned to feed them two breakfasts instead. Hopefully that’ll at least fill enough of a toe to keep them until a reasonable lunch hour. Having had their cheerios, they were both content to play quietly while I passed out (and possibly drooled) on the floor. Biggest wasn’t too sure about leaving me alone to sleep, but I was able to explain it to him as a “reset”. IE: “Mommy has to reset, because sometimes when she wakes up, she gets stuck half asleep. And the only way to fix it is to reset it by falling asleep again”. What a weird conversation to have with a kid.

 

OH! Speaking of conversations, guess what word we used yesterday? Wait for it… wait for it….

 

WHY.

I’m in trouble. Serious trouble. Thankfully I was able to hide my shock, and subsequent incredulous smile, and answer appropriately, however, that particular word scares the pants off me.

We also had the excitement of watching Littlest finally start crawling yesterday! That’s right folks, he’s finally decided that moving in a specific direction is faster than rolling everywhere. It’s not a full crawl, more of an army style crawl, but it’s still exciting nonetheless.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I think my hashbrowns are burning, and Biggest thought that pulling the plug would prevent him from getting washed. He’s sorely mistaken.

The Handler.

 

Oh dear, I gotta go.

What Do You Think?

