Awkward Conversation #1.


Every time I think that I’ve settled into the swing of things, something happens. I know that sounds naive, but when you’re in the middle of the day-to-day business of children, that particular sentiment isn’t really in the forefront of your mind. For that matter, I’m not sure I have a forefront left. I’m pretty sure I lost it when I got poop in the face the first time. Being on the phone while trying to change a diaper, and getting leftovers in your face mid-sentence really tends to put autopilot into full motion. After all, if you actually thought about what was going on, you’d run screaming the other way.

 

As it stands, the latest of the Happenings has come as a bit of a shock. Bedtimes have been a bit of an issue lately, so it wasn’t much of a surprise when Littlest started wailing last night. I came into the bedroom, everything seemed fine, so I turned around to leave. And came across Littlest’s diaper.

 

Wait… What?

I guess, for whatever reason, Biggest had decided that Littlest no longer required a bum covering, and had removed it. Whether that was because Littlest was crying, and he thought his diaper needed changing, or whether he just figured it was a good idea, I’ll never know.

Cue awkward talk Number One. In point form, since I’m sure my actual wording was downright shameful (based on my inexperience with weiners…)

– Privacy is important.

– No one touches our bits without our consent.

– We don’t touch other people’s bits.

– Underwear stays on.

– We don’t take off other people’s underwear.

– Changing Littlest’s diaper is Mommy’s job because Littlest is too small to do it himself.

 

I’m not convinced my lecture was actually heard though, because it was interrupted every 4 seconds with “I’d like water.” “Water.” “I want water.”

I don’t know what I’m going to do if it happens again. Another awkward conversation? Make him sleep nekkid to show him how it feels? Ignore it altogether?

What would you have done?

The Handler.

Help me out and leave a comment if you’ve got a solution! You don’t need to provide an email address, as it’s not necessary for posting.

3 thoughts on “Awkward Conversation #1.

  1. awwww lame-o! don’t have any suggestions atm, i’ll think on it. I’m inclined to believe that one should also go without, so that one knows how it feels to be aired out!

    Like

What Do You Think?

