Jelly, Jam, Relish, Pickles, and Lunch Totes


Hello from the nebulus that is summer-meets-wedding-meets-full-time-job! Amazingly enough, it’s the beginning of September!

While part of me feels terrible for not being more prompt with the updates, another part of me just stares blankly at the wall going “what happened?”. Clearly, the “what happened” is the part holding majority status. That aside, there is so much going on in the next three weeks.

 

First, I finally joined a gym. For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been training for a marathon for almost a year, and despite my best intentions, I haven’t been able to get nearly as far as I would have liked. After doing some thinking, I realized that it would be best for me to find somewhere with a treadmill and cross-training available, which led me to the gym. It’s less expensive per month than I was expecting, and it’s unlimited access. I should be fully registered by next week.

 

Second, I am continuing my job. I had originally planned on being employed for the summer, and leaving when the fall semester started, but I have found that being employed has it’s merits. Especially since I managed to snag my dream job in the retail sector, with ideal hours and great co-workers. Furthermore, I’ve found that it makes me a more patient parent. I don’t know that I want to be a working mama forever, but for now, it’s done us all a world of good, and I’m willing to continue working for that alone. It’s curious being on both sides of the coin, as I can see what benefits staying home can bring, as well as the benefits being away from home can bring. Definitely worth continued observation.

 

Third, thanks to the aforementioned job, my children will be starting daycare. I am counting my blessings that my children know the lady who runs our chosen facility, otherwise I would be freaking out right now. Also, I may or may not have gone wild sorting out what lunch kits I was gonna buy for them. There’s really just too many choices. I finally decided on this one for Biggest and his love of bugs, and this one for Littlest’s attraction to anything water related. I also got the matching snack containers and bags, as well as divided dishes, and silverware.  I realize that it seems like overkill, but I was inspired by mommyshorts.com and her commitment to packing non-disposable lunches. I’ve also learned that there is nothing like good quality to last way longer than it should.

 

Finally… my big-by-3-minutes sister is getting married in less than 3 weeks. I can’t wait! That being said, time needs to slow down a little so we can actually get our tasks done. Also, our list of jams and jellies is growing. We’ve now made the following flavors.

Lightly Curried Pineapple Melon Jelly

Blackberry Chai Jelly

Red Pepper Jelly

Spiced Peachberry Jelly

Pineapple Super Chili Jam

Pineapple Jalapeno Jam

Triple Berry Jam

Vanilla Bourbon Peach Jam

 

Furthermore, we still have yet to make three flavors:

Blueberry Vanilla Bourbon Jam

Peach Chardonnay Jelly

Bacon Jam

 

ALSO, we’ve made Dill Pickles, Dilly Beans, and Pickled Beets.

We’ve still got to finish our Curried Apple Chutney and Pineapple Relish.

Not only am I dying to try all the flavors with cream cheese and crackers, but I am also dying to make some new flavor combos. Urk.

 

Let’s not forget that I still have candles to make, favor boxes to finish, and signage to do. Thankfully I’m not the bride though, because she gets the joy of seating arrangements, and I would rather remake every last jam/jelly/relish/pickle and double the candles whilst simultaneously gluing myself to favors than make sure everyone likes (read: can behave self with) the person they’re sitting next to.

 

And now that you’ve been caught up (or at least given a glimpse into the insanity that is the Gnome household), I really need to go to bed, as I have to work in the morning.

 

Also, Biggest had his first campout with one of his Pappy’s, and Littlest pined the entire time. Good news though, he was right as rain as soon as Biggest walked in the door, Biggest had a grand tme, and they’re both going to sleep like a log tonight. Time for Mommy to sleep too!

 

The Handler.

What Do You Think?

