4:00am


Children seem to have a fascination for extremely early morning hours. This week has been no exception. Both Littlest and Biggest have arrived at my bedside around 4:00am poking me and giggling at me and, for all intents and purposes, pointing out their readiness for the day.

People, this may come as a shock to you but I am not a morning person. Furthermore, 4:00am is the middle of the night! I mean really, the sun’s even asleep still. This may also come as a shock to you but such a concept is not an easily explained idea to the smallest members of my house. Imagine their surprise when I inform them that they are required to return to their beds.

Biggest: Oh. No sunrise. (Sunrise gone forever). I not eating. (Breakfast will never return. Ever.) I not washing my hands. (Water and soap are the devil incarnate.) *pause* (Upon realizing that I, in my all seeing state, do not care that he wants me to think the world is ending, and can see right through it all, despite being almost delirious….) WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

Littlest: WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

Husband: WHAT IS GOING ON???? (yep, that’s right, they were loud enough to wake him up too! I pity the neighbours.)

Yep. That’s my 4:00 in the morning.

Repeat ad nauseum, with some variation between 4:00am and 5:00am.

Today I was lucky. 5:15am, and Biggest rolled over and went back to sleep.

Despite the intensity, I am actually crazy proud of myself today. I got the kids off to daycare, ran 3 full miles (that works out to 4.8k) in half an hour, worked a 5.5hr shift, picked the kids up from daycare, went grocery shopping with my husband… and even managed to fill you all in. Isn’t that incredible? (Seriously people, I’m falling over with delight.)

In other news, Littlest finally started walking. Sneaky little bugger waited until he could do it really well, and within 2 “practice sessions” could walk all the way across the living room. This bodes well for teenagehood doesn’t it?

G’night.

The Handler

What Do You Think?

