When Training Goes Awry


I. Am. So. Tired.

The end.

I better write more than that, hey? Fine.

I. Am. So. Very. Tired.

The end.

Nope. All right, fine. I have always been a goal oriented person. However, I’m quickly discovering that my usual go-getter habits are going to send me to my doom. More importantly, I will be too tired to avoid the kids sending me to my doom. I was originally setting myself a time limit on how long I was running, and keeping track of how far I traveled, but that is really not working. It was fine for a day, but only one, and it’s taken me almost a week to get back up to my usual sproing. So, I went back to the drawing table, and decided that I was going to run slower for a set distance, and work myself down to a faster time for that distance instead.

It was either that or I pass out for a day and a half. I almost slept through my alarm this morning, and woke up on the floor with a pile of blankets and a pop up train on my head… and for the life of me, I’m not sure how that happened. Even better, I left myself very little time to get out the door for work, and ended up running most of the way. I gave myself props for my hair still being intact at the end of it. I then guzzled 6 cups of tea. I’ll admit it, I am crazy about tea. I must have a cup of coffee in the morning, but after that, it’s tea, tea, tea, tea, and tea! However, some of that is actually Rooibos (a South African bush that is caffeine free and full of naturally occurring iron and electrolytes), so I didn’t dehydrate myself. Although you wouldn’t know it with how many times I visited the ladies room today. I really need to remember a sweater at work because I drank at least 2 extra cups due to being chilled.

Another tell-tale sign for overdoing it? Managing to get to the gym with clean socks and a towel… and no clean shirt. Yep. That’s right. Clean socks, towel, no shirt. And no meds. But I had socks!

With that, I’m going to sleep. Cross my fingers, but I’m hoping that I wake up without a train on my head tomorrow.

The Handler.

PS: Apologies if this doesn’t make sense. I’ve spent the last 10 minutes looking at it and trying to make it more understandable, but I’m giving up in favor of my pillow. I wish you good luck with the decipheri…zzzz….zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…. HUH? WHAT? Oh. Deciphering. Zzzzzzzzz….

What Do You Think?

